Belarus, Kazakhstan, Russia waive inner customs controls for imports

Belarus, Kazakhstan and Russia have waived inner customs control for imports entering their Customs Union, BelaPAN reports.

An agreement to this effect was signed at a meeting held by the Interstate Council of the Eurasian Economic Community in Russia’s St Petersburg on May 21.

The agreement revoked an earlier protocol that also stipulated that a customs duty on imports should be paid in accordance with national regulations of the country that the imports enter.

The document also waived the requirement that carriers of goods in transit should obtain a unified transportation declaration when crossing the border into the Customs Union.